Skip to content

AOC hat-trick, Arteta isn’t Cesc, Close but no Gourcuff and Ivan talks financials

by on October 7, 2011

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, he just won’t stop scoring. He picked up another three for the England U-21s last night. I think that makes it (approximately) 5 assists, 3-4 goals and 1 penalty won in 3 starts and one appearance of the bench after 60 minutes for the youngster? Not bad, click here for the goals.

Another youngster impressed recently as well, albeit not for Arsenal. Joel Campbell scored on his full debut for Lorient and got a lot of praise from the coaching staff. Click here to read more about it and watch the video.

Mikel Arteta (who joined without a medical, like Yossi Benayoun) has been rubbishing comparisons between himself and Cesc Fabregas. Speaking about his move on deadline day, he says:

“It was very stressful. At 6pm, they said everything had broken down. Then, at 8.30pm, everything started again.”

“But there wasn’t time to have a medical. I went to the offices of the club [Everton] and from there I told Arsenal to trust me and that if some medical problem was found it would be my responsibility.”

He also spoke about not trying to be another Cesc:

“I’ve been here for three weeks and he was here seven years.”

“I have a personality which is definitely different to his. I would be making a mistake if I was trying to be the same or even better than him.”

“I have to find my own way. My own style. Cesc was the best player of Arsenal and one of the three best players in the Premier League.”

“My aim is only to try to give my maximum level as a player and help the team as much as I can.”

I’ve been really impressed with Arteta so far, he gives his all on the pitch and is brilliant off it. Long may it continue. Per Mertesacker has added his voice to that of Jack Wilshere in support of Arsene Wenger:

“For years, Arsene Wenger has been the pride of the club. The manager would not sign a player if he was not absolutely convinced. He shows me that in the daily work. That knowledge gives a lot of confidence to me and the others players.”

“Over there, he has a giant reputation and ultimate backing. To Arsenal fans, Arsene Wenger is a hero, he won’t lose that status. We have a talented squad with a lot of potential and it is only a matter of time until we are able to show it.”

Well said that man! In other news, we were looking at Youann Gourcuff in the summer, until he got injured. Quel surprise.

Elsewhere, Gunnerblog raises a few good points in his post, worth a read for the more thoughtful football fans out there. Aaron Ramsey has been speaking about our start to the season, branding it as unacceptable. Speaking about the poor start, the Welsh midfielder said:

“Arsenal are one of the top clubs in England and where we are at the moment is not acceptable. We have to turn that around pretty quickly.’It’s been quite frustrating so far with the problems that have been happening in the last few games, but hopefully we can start winning games on a regular basis and getting high up the table.”

“Arsenal at the moment are under a lot of pressure. We have not produced results we are capable of. That has surprised people in a way but it will turn around soon.”

Final thing, Ivan Gazidis has said that we don’t need Champions League football to run as a business, but stresses that it would obviously be nice if we were to get it. Calming troubled waters? Or just lowering expectations? What do you think?

As always you can follow me on twitter @SavageGooner as well as ‘liking’ us on facebook. Righto then, let’s hope nobody gets injured this evening.

Victoria Concordia Crescit – Victory Comes Through Harmony

From → Daily Blog News

One Comment
  1. barbes permalink

    I THINK THAT STATEMENT IS VERY HARSH ESPECIALLY FOR PLAYERS WITH CHAMPION LEAGUE EXPECTATION . AND HOPE

Got an opinion? Let us know!