Skip to content

Van Persie on being refreshed & Henry returning

by on January 9, 2012

Robin Van Persie (Left) Alex Song (Center) Thierry Henry (Right)

Arsenal Captain Robin Van Persie recently spoke to Arsenal’s official Matchday Programm saying he is refreshed after his little break. The Dutch striker is expected to be rested for the Leeds United match this evening and should return against Swansea next weekend. He also spoke about Leeds United and what it was like facing them last season in the F.A Cup.

“The good thing is that we have been able to have a little break over the last few days, which is always welcome at this time of year.”

“I have been able to recharge the batteries a little bit, get refreshed and ready to go again.”

“I’m looking forward to the year, though I don’t think I will be involved tonight against Leeds.”

“I played against them last year in the replay, so I know how good a team they are, and we’ll have to play really well to knock them out.”

“It was a really tough couple of games against them to get through so hopefully we can do it in just one game this time.”

The Dutch international also spoke about Thierry Henry on returning back to Arsenal on a short-term loan deal. He said Henry has looked really good in training and expects Henry to feature for the Gunners a lot over the next month or so.

“It’s great to welcome Thierry Henry back to the Club – his return will lift everyone.”

“Some people might ask why he is choosing to come back, because he is already a legend – he’s just got a statue here!”

” But for me it tells you everything about him; he’s coming back because he loves the game.

“I think if you asked ten legends whether they would come back, I’m not sure they would be brave enough.”

“But Thierry really loves the game, and that’s what I really like.”

“He knows things are at stake, he is remembered as a legend, but for him it’s simple – he loves the game and he wants to be a part of the Club he loves.”

“I’m sure he will get loads of games, because I’ve seen him in training, and I don’t want to put too much pressure on, but I can assure you he is looking really good.”

You can follow me on twitter @AFC_93.

From → Daily Blog News

Leave a Comment

Got an opinion? Let us know!

