Skip to content

Walcott on Wilshere, Getting More Goals & His Form

by on January 4, 2012

England international Theo Walcott has recently spoken to ArsenalPlayer about his form this season, where he can improve and his team-mate Jack Wilshere. He mentioned that he needs to score more, he’s scored four goals so far this season. Walcott said Jack Wilshere is “a very important player for us”.

The Arsenal forward on his form in 2011 and where he can improve.

“I had quite a good scoring year in 2011 with a lot of assists, which I’m happy with.”

“This season I think I need to get in among the goals a bit more maybe  – I only have four.”

“But I’m happy if the team’s winning and I’m getting assists for the main man up front.”

“I’m doing my job and you have to be effective going forward. That’s what I’ve been doing so far.”

Walcott on his Arsenal and England team-mate Jack Wilshere and Wilshere’s return from injury.

“Seeing Jack in and around the dressing room and treatment room, he is as happy as ever.”

“He’s had a new step in his life with a new-born baby, which is great, and he is also a very important player for us.” “Obviously he won the Young Player of the Year award last year which was deserved.”

“He’s also played for England and now he just needs to get back out on that pitch.”

“You have to ease him back into it because he’s had a long time out and he’s only just turned 20.”

“He has a long career ahead of him so we don’t want to be overplaying him.”

“But we’ll use him the right way, I’m sure of it.”

Lastly the England international spoke about wanting to win something with Arsenal this year.

“I think we’ve had so mu ch experience of almost getting there – Quarter-Finals, the Final of the Carling Cup for example – and we just want a bit more.”

“We obviously want to win the Premier League, we want to win every competition we enter.”

“It’s been a long time since we won something and for me personally, I want to win even more now as well.”

“Fingers crossed we can all stay fit, which is quite important.”

“In seasons before we’ve had a lot of injuries that have stuttered us slightly and that doesn’t help the team.” “But it’s a squad thing, and the important thing is that we keep a lot of players fit.”

You can follow me on twitter @AFC_93.

From → Daily Blog News

Leave a Comment

Got an opinion? Let us know!

