Skip to content

Van Persie on his form, breaking Henry’s record & more.

by on December 23, 2011

Arsenal captain Robin Van Persie has recently spoken what the secret is to his successful year of 2011. The Dutchman has been incredible goalscoring form for the Gunners and also talked about staying fit. Because he hasn’t been injured it has allowed him to take more risks whilst playing. The Arsenal captain needs two more goals to equal to equal Alan Shearer’s record of 36 goals Premier League goals in year.

Van Persie on his form, staying fit and being able to take more risks.

“I didn’t miss one Premier League game [this year], and in most games I played 90 minutes, so when you have a good run and feel fresh and fit you try things,” he said.”

“You take a few more risks than perhaps you would when you are coming back from injury. When you don’t have a run, you don’t really try things.”

“As a striker it is really important to have a go. If you feel like having a chip or cutting the ball instead of shooting [you should do it].”

“If you look at my performances, I take more risks now because I know that, with the team I have behind me, I will get more chances.”

“It’s not as if I will only get one chance – I always get one, two, three maybe four in a game, so I can take a risk here and there.”

The Dutch international also spoke about Theirry Henry and equaling Henry’s record of goals scored in a year.

“Van Persie admits that he feel great pride at equalling Henry’s record, but he insists that winning games remains his main motivation.”

“It’s a big honour because Thierry is probably the best player Arsenal ever had and to achieve that in a year is really special.”

“I am really proud but it is not my main target. But as it has happened, of course I am really happy.”

You can follow me on twitter @AFC_93.

From → Daily Blog News

Leave a Comment

Got an opinion? Let us know!

