Skip to content

Nick returns!!!

by on November 21, 2011

Good day Gooners! Let me start off by explaining my disappearance from the blog for the past couple of months. As you may or may not have been aware, I started a new job which has been keeping me busy, what with all the commuting and everything. But the last few weeks for me have been up and down. Problems at home, and moving out (unrelated), about four weeks ago I learned that my mum had breast cancer, which understandably I had a tough time coping with it all. I asked Will to give me some time away as posting on the blog was the least of my worries. Luckily, my mum had successful surgery after learning that the cancer had not spread, and now she is doing well. The dust has settled with everything else, and so I am back once a week posting about the Arsenal, so let’s get cracking!

Van-tastic three points on the weekend away to the Canaries, courtesy of two goals from our skipper. The promoted Norwich was not going to be an easy game, and the way our season started, you wouldn’t be surprised if we dropped points there, especially after an international break. Van Persie has been an absolute God in the last few weeks, and he didn’t fail to deliver once again to help us slowly creep up the Premiership table. His first was a simple finish, which Gervinho tried to recreate Nwankwo Kanu’s infamous trick in where he succeeded against Middlesborough. Robin’s second was beautifully finished, lifting the ball over the keeper into the empty net. There is no stopping this man in his current form. Long may it continue!

Per Mertesacker however, has yet to impress me this season. He was like a baby giraffe on rollerskates on Saturday. Yes he needs time to adapt to the pace of the English league, but he needs to learn a bit faster than he can actually run. Don’t get me wrong, he still has my support. Of course he does, he’s an Arsenal player. But this post wouldn’t be my own if there wasn’t at least one rant.

Now off the field, and Arsenal’s all-time goalscorer, the legend, Thierry Henry, came to train with the club after New York Red Bulls’ play-off campaign came to an end. I got sent a picture message from a friend that showed Thierry in the flesh training with the Arsenal boys, and with his own caption that was simply ‘If only…’. Well I could not have given the picture a better title. No doubt it is great to see Thierry back home, even if it is just so he can keep in shape ahead of the new MLS season. It is undeniable how much of a boost he will become to the Arsenal squad in maintaining their current form. Players like Gervinho, Theo Walcott, and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain should not take this time for granted. They can learn so much from a man who has bags of experience and honours under his belt, and even if he is only acting as a temporary tutor for a couple of weeks, this is the time as good as any to gain as much knowledge and advice from the man who served this club well, and put into practice when they next step onto the field.

When looking at the caption ‘If only…’, I started to wonder how many of us would actually want us to sign him on a David Beckham/AC Milan-esque loan, even if it means him sitting on the bench. I pondered this for about 5 minutes, and then I realised…EVERY gooner would have him back in a heartbeat, whether it was a loan signing, ball-boy, or as a player’s mascot before kick-off. Yes I know, five minutes was too long to even question it, but you never know, you do get the odd fan who may of had a difference in opinion. In all honesty, what a difference it would make if he was on the touchline at the Emirates Stadium. It’d be a morale boost for everyone. For those who go to Arsenal matches, you have all witnessed the increase of atmosphere whenever Thierry came to watch the games from his box, so could you imagine seeing the man himself running up and down the sidelines to warm up. It would have such an impact to the fans and players, which could be beneficial in stamping our authority in home games. However, we must realise this is wishful thinking, as I believe it is highly unlikely Wenger will take him on a loan signing. We can’t compare this to Sol Campbell, because he was on a free transfer at the time. Thierry is still contracted to the New York Red Bulls.

Speaking of Thierry, during the international break I watched all of Henry’s 226 goals for Arsenal on YouTube. If you ever have the time, get on it. Brings back happy memories!

Next up is Borussia Dortmund on Wednesday in the Champions League. This should be a comfortable win. I’m going for a 3-0 win for the Arsenal. A win which will book our place to the knockout stages!

I’ll be back next Mon! Have a good week. Up the Arsenal!

Follow me on Twitter: Nick_Palmer1988

From → Daily Blog News

Got an opinion? Let us know!

