Skip to content

Oxo wants to show his stuff, Theo needs more support and Coquelin mistranslated?

by on November 10, 2011

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain has impressed for the Arsenal this season, although his performance against Bolton failed to live up to his previous high standards. Why then, some may ask, is he not featuring in squads more often? Personally, it’s something I’m pleased about. Obviously he’s an exciting talent, but we know what the English media is like and how quickly they will look to put him on a pedestal before knocking him down. Although getting minutes of the bench wouldn’t be harmful to him, I don’t see why he should get minutes ahead of Park, Arshavin or Benayoun. Needless to say his time will come during the season as injuries, suspension and international call-ups shake up the squad.

He has spoken about it himself saying:

‘I think there’s a lot more to come from me so I am just going to keep working hard, keep learning in training and get some more appearances to do well,’

It’s down to me at the end of the day, I’ve got to put pressure on the boss to select me. I can only do that by training well and, when I do get my chance, impress him. The boss has said it’s up to me, he’s going to work with me the same way I have to with him.

‘It’s a work in progress and I don’t think there’s any need to rush into things. I trust the boss and he’s going to develop me in the same way.

‘I knew that when I signed here it would be hard for me, I was playing more week-in week-out at Southampton and I knew that maybe in my first season I wouldn’t get a lot of game time.

‘But I’m learning so much in training from the likes of Robin van Persie and the rest of the boys – and the manager as well. I’ve only had a few appearances but I’ve scored two goals and I’m happy with that.’

Theo Walcott, who has been perhaps incorrectly compared to Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, is a bit of an on and off phenomenon amongst Arsenal fans. I wasn’t going to mention him, but this piece in Gooner Talk about him is worth a read. We’re playing more directly now which uses his pace better, but could we do more to help the young forward?

The last thing then, Francis Coquelin had an interesting interview in France Football [or maybe Football France] yesterday. It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of the young Frenchman, which is why I was somewhat unhappy to find things like this online when I logged on yesterday.

It seems like the Frenchman has been mis-translated though, as the likes of Jamie Sanderson from Young Guns Blog have been clearing everything up. Francis Coquelin wanted to go on loan to Lorient this season after last season’s success, but the club wanted him to be around the first-team. When he speaks about leaving in January he’s not talking about a transfer away from the club, but rather a loan move for six months to get more minutes and aid his development. That’s cleared up then. I was a bit surprised in the first place given that he has stated in two recent interviews that he wasn’t expecting to have played as much as he has done this season, not to mention this new interview on ArsenalPlayer. [Free to watch]

Glad that’s cleared up then, although personally I think it’s Frimpong rather than Coquelin who needs a loan move. Not to mention that Frimpong won’t be here in January, [I don’t think] so we may want to keep Coquelin around as back-up. Anyway, at least that’s cleared up… somewhat. As I’ve been saying for the last few days, this evening should see the debut of a new columnist, so stay tuned!

As per usual, you can follow me on twitter @SavageGooner and like us on facebook!

Victoria Concordia Crescit – Victory Comes Through Harmony

From → Daily Blog News

One Comment
  1. sam permalink

    why send our best young players out on loan when we don’t have big squad and still have deadwoods in the team.
    do you know why we collapsed last season? our first team was average and our team B was absolutely rubbish.
    i dont think wenger will repeat the same mistake again,

Got an opinion? Let us know!

