Skip to content

Four signings on Deadline Day, plus one from Tuesday

by on September 1, 2011

That’s it. The window has officially closed. No more recruits for the season, well at least until the market re-opens in January.

So Tuesday was a busy day. I woke up to the news we were on the verge of signing a Brazilian left-back called Andre Santos from Fenerbache. This deal was confirmed early during a very busy transfer window. Never heard of him to be honest, and when I visited one of my local cafe’s during my lunch break, I was told by the owners (who watch Turkish football very closely) that he isn’t all that, and could struggle in the English league. I hope this isn’t true, but he has to be better than Armand Traore. I mean he surely can’t be any worse than that guy, who thankfully fucked off to QPR 24 hours after that disgraceful performance at Old Trafford. Regardless of their opinions on Santos, I welcome him to the club, and I am excited to see him play.

I didn’t have my phone on me until the late afternoon, but I was informed by a fellow Gooner at work that we had signed South Korean striker Chu Young Park from AS Monaco. Again, another player I had never heard of until a couple of weeks ago. When officially signing for the Arsenal, he had this to say:

“In my opinion this is a great club, now I have to show what I can do on the pitch.”
“I will do my best, I will never give up, I will show heart, I will give everything and I hope the fans will support me.”
“I will never give up. I will show heart.”

Straight away I like this lad! It’s these kind of words I want to hear from our current players, not just new signings! Let’s hope he practice what he preaches. Welcome to the club!

The same fellow Gooner told me we were on the verge of signing German International Per Mertesacker, which was confirmed close to the end of the transfer window. A transfer rumour which has dragged on for as long as the Cesc-Barca saga, and now has finally ended! I am delighted to have Mertesacker at Arsenal. At 6″6, he is that sort of presence we need at the back. Ok he isn’t the quickest of players, so what? As long as he can win headers, pressure the opposition, and bully them about a bit, then pace is nothing worth fretting about. Plus with 75 international caps for Germany, he has the experience we have missed in defence. He’s a vocal guy, and vocal Germans can be quite intimidating! I am buzzing to see this guy play in the colours of Arsenal.

A warm welcome to Mikel Arteta, who joins the club. Now around 6pm, we launched a bid for Mikel Arteta in the fee of around £10million. We then decided we withdrew interest a couple of hours later, and an hour or so later we went back in for him, and got our man in the dying seconds of the window closing. A great signing for the club. He has proven Premier League experience. He is an older player that the younger plays can look up to and learn from. He has great technique, and he can shoot a ball outside the box. Great last-minute signing!

We also signed Yossi Benayoun on loan from Chelsea. He’ll definitely add depth to the squad which was looking very thin at the beginning of the season. He has overcome a bad injury from last season, so let’s hope he can get his match fitness up to scratch!

I’m pleased we have made signings, especially in the areas we needed to. However I am slightly disappointed in two things. First I am disappointed that we left it this late to do our business. I personally feel we should have got the players we wanted before the pre-season, or two weeks before the season started at the very latest. Secondly, we had around £50million to spend from the sales of Cesc Fabregas and Samir Nasri, and yet since those departures we have bought players at a combined total of around £27million. Slightly annoying we did not reinvest all of that money into strengthening the squad even further.

Finally, Nicklas Bendtner has made a season-long loan move to Sunderland. A great signing for both him and the Black Cats. I really hope it goes well for him there, and prove those haters wrong that he does have the potential to be a top striker!

Are you happy with the signings? Who would you have liked us to sign on deadline day? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.

Have a good day Gooners!

Follow me on Twitter: Nick_Palmer1988

From → Daily Blog News

Got an opinion? Let us know!

