Skip to content

Lansbury on his way? Will we get a left-back?

by on August 19, 2011

The first news then, news that provoked outrage yesterday, is that Armand Traore could well move on loan to QPR. Naturally this has provoked all kinds of outrage, ‘Gibbs will be injured.’,’We won’t have a left-back’,’Wenger has lost the plot’,’It’s Wenger’s fault if we fall out of the top four’,’It’s Wenger’s fault my TV doesn’t work’. All the usual stuff really, ranging from the understandable to the controversial and the downright idiotic. The truth is that Wenger isn’t stupid and I would be surprised if he didn’t have an ace up his sleeve, even if it’s only playable after we’ve qualified for the Champions League. I suppose we’ll just have to wait and see. Obviously, I’m also guessing that Traore won’t leave if Gibbs is injured, but I wouldn’t vouch for that now I think about it.

As has been reported every day for what seems like the last nine years, Samir Nasri is apparently on the verge of a move to Man City. Having said that, Arsene Wenger has literally just said that Samir Nasri will be in the squad for the Liverpool game and will be picked if required. Interesting, maybe the move to City isn’t as close as many people have been claiming. In other news, there have rumours around for the last day or two that Henri Lansbury could move to Blackburn. I would be disappointed if he went as I think he should get the chance to prove himself, as well as the fact that we don’t have much of a midfield.

In other news, UEFA are apparently set to ‘discipline’ Arsene Wenger after communicating with the bench during the match against Udinese. I find it a bit silly really, especially seeing as Wenger says they checked with UEFA before the match and they said that it was fine. Shouldn’t they be sorting out the eye-gougers, cheats and racists?

There’s been a lot of talk about a few of the youngsters coming through recently, with Emmanuel Frimpong talking about how he wants to make the most of his chances, especially with Song suspended. You can watch the full interview here.There’s also been a lot of talk about Ryo Miyaichi, who will also be in the squad tomorrow. He’s spoken about how he will work hard for opportunities and also about how much the loan to Feyenoord helped him last season. You can watch that whole interview right here.

There was also a really interesting interview with David Dein on the BBC. It’s about 22 minutes long so will take a bit of concentration, but it’s honestly a real corker if you’re interested in that kind of stuff. We’ve also completed another commercial deal. Whatever you think of Stan Kroenke, isn’t this the third deal we’ve done since he took over? His team must be doing something right…

Enough soft news though, we play Liverpool tomorrow lunch-time! Robin Van Persie reckons that Andy Carroll and Alan Shearer have similar hair styles playing styles. Time for some team news then.

Szczesny should start in goal. We have no right-backs and Djourou won’t play so I’m hoping that it will be all first-choice with Jenkinson at left-back. The only other option is TV at left-back and Squillaci coming in with Jenkinson on the bench, but I would much rather have the former. In midfield we don’t really have anyone. I’ll be a bit unorthodox. I think Raamsey and Frimpong will start with Arshavin and Van Persie playing. Obviously there’s a Walcott as well. I’m just wondering whether we’ll go 4-4-2 with Arsh and Walcott on the wings and Van Persie behind Chamakh. Jenkinson might need more help than usual. Having said that, I have no idea what will happen. I don’t even know why I’m bothering. As i usually say about these things, we really have no choice but to wait and see.

Finally, take a look at this ‘Ode to Cesc’ if Arsenal related poetry is your kind of shizzle. It’s pretty nifty. One other thing by the way, you know Nick? He posts on Mondays and Thursdays. Well as you may have read, he’s a season ticket holder and we’ve got a picture of him from last years draw at the Emirates at full-time. Looking good Nick!

That’s it for today then, be sure to tweet me up @SavageGooner and let me know your predictions for the match. Who do you think will start?

From → Daily Blog News

4 Comments
  1. davi permalink

    Wenger has already said that Lansbury will stay, when he was linked with Norwich. I agree that he should be given a chance, frankly I think he could make as big an impact has ramsey has in the short term, and unless we sign someone new, which can’t be ruled out, I can’t see him leaving. If someone new was brought in, perhaps he could leave on loan, but I’d be utterly shocked if he were allowed to leave on a permanent basis. I actually think he could do really well for us this season, he has everything: pace, strength, stamina, workrate and very good technical ability.

    I don’t see why we would let traore leave either, unless wenger has a signing lined up. Even then he has done just as well as gibbs with his opportunities imo, and if kieran was allowed a shot at the first team, then armand should be given the same chance. All he needs is 1st-team experience, same as gibbs, and he’s good enough to be getting it in the arsenal 1st team.

    Campbell is the one who is interesting me at the moment. Apparently we’ve signed him, but it’s not been properly confirmed from what I’ve seen, and he looks like he could have been useful tomorrow. I really like Ryo, of course, but I’m not convinced he is ready for 1st team football in the PL. Thought he should have gone on loan for another year. He has pace and ability, but he doesn’t look strong enough. That’s not a problem in itself, but I don’t think the other sides to his game are good enough yet to compensate (a bit like vela, but imo vela was much better prepared this season).

    • Agreed, I can’t see his leaving being tenable with out current lack of midfielders. He could move to somewhere like Bolton in January for a six-month loan, much like Wilshere did.
      I’m surprised that Traore rumours have surfaced in all honesty. I thought he’d looked good in pre-season and was defensively a lot better than he used to be. I hope he gets his chance as well.
      The signing is basically done now. http://www.arsenal.com/news/news-archive/arsenal-finalise-signing-of-campbell From what I’ve heard though, he will need a work permit. His number of caps should help there. As for Miyaichi, I rate him but agree that he’s probably not ready to be a regular fixture for the 1st XI, he is still a little rough around the edges. If anything, I would use Oxo instead.

  2. fruss permalink

    why are you putting chamark in the mix.surely he is a flop.the midfield will be occupied by nasri frimpong and ramsey.nasri can still go afetr we have most of our players back.if mancini cant undersatned that the face off

    • You think Nasri will play? I’m not so sure. He could just be ‘in the squad’ like Bendtner was against Udinese.
      Chamakh hasn’t scored in a while, but his link-up play is still very useful.

Got an opinion? Let us know!

